flags of the world

Malaysia Flag

Click Malaysia Flag Image to Download

flag of Malaysia

Flag of Malaysia

The flag of Malaysia is comprises of a field of 14 irregular red and white bands along the fly and a blue canton behavior a crescent and a 14-point star recognized as the Bintang Persekutuan (Federal Star). The 14 bands, of equal width, characterize the equal status in the coalition of the 13 member states and the federal terrains, while the 14 points of the star embody the unity between these bodies. Malaysia Flag crescent symbolizes Islam, the country's state religion; the blue canton suggests the unity of the Malaysian people; the yellow of the star and falcate is the royal color of the Malay rulers.

In blazon, the Malaysian flag is labeled as a banner Gules of seven bars argent or the flag of Malaysia means a red flag with seven horizontal white stripes. The top-left (hoist) neighborhood is blue with a yellow fading crescent and a yellow 14-pointed star.

History of Malaysia Flag

Before the national flag was designed, each province in Malaysia had its individual flag. Most of these flags are continuing their use and have not modified in design. The first national flag was hoisted in 1963. The design was created by the Federation of Malaya. When it was obvious that a national flag was needed, a competition was thrown. There were three selections made for the flag. The initial flag landscaped a blue field with two Malay daggers and 11 stars. The second ensign was of a similar design save for the assignment of the stars and the design of the blades. The third future flag was the chosen flag and was accepted in 1950. The change was in the number of bands in the flag, as well as the number of opinions on the star. During the years, more bands and points were added to signify additional territories. The current flag was accepted and had been in use since 1963.

Malaysia Flag Design and Symbolic Meaning

The flag of Malaysia landscapes irregular red and white horizontal bands. There are a total of 14, each of equivalent width, designed to signify the federation of the member states and federal lands. The flag also landscapes a star with 14 points. This is designed to signify the unity between the federal lands and the 13 member states. Positioned alongside the star is a crescent moon, which signifies the nation’s official religion of Islam.

About Malaysia

Lying in the Asian continent, Malaysia shares its borders with Indonesia, Thailand and Brunei. It also shares maritime boundaries with China, Vietnam, Philippines, and Singapore. With the population density of 92 / km2 (238.3 / sq mi) (116th), the Malaysia territory spreads across 330, 803 km2 accommodating 32 million inhabitants in the country.

Malaysia is a Federal parliamentary elective constitutional monarchy. The official language of Malaysia is Bahasa and the currency is Ringgit. Malaysia comprises of two letters Malaysia code i.e. MY and its three letters Malaysia code is MYS and in digits it is 458. The calling code is +60 and the UTC i.e. standard time followed in Malaysia is UTC +8 hours.

Being a federal monarchy, Malaysia comprises a total of thirteen independent states and three federal territories.

Malaysia Country Information Updated 2024

Country Malaysia
Continent Asia
Official languages Bahasa Malaysia, English
Capital Kuala Lumpur
Currency Malaysian ringgit RM (MYR)

Other Asia Countries Countries

Afghanistan Afghanistan Flag
Armenia Armenia Flag
Azerbaijan Azerbaijan Flag
Bahrain Bahrain Flag
Bangladesh Bangladesh Flag
Bhutan Bhutan Flag
Brunei Brunei Flag
Cambodia Cambodia Flag
China China Flag
Cyprus Cyprus Flag
Georgia Georgia Flag
India India Flag
Indonesia Indonesia Flag
Iran Iran Flag
Iraq Iraq Flag
Israel Israel Flag
Japan Japan Flag
Jordan Jordan Flag
Kazakhstan Kazakhstan Flag
Kuwait Kuwait Flag
Kyrgyzstan Kyrgyzstan Flag
Laos Laos Flag
Lebanon Lebanon Flag
Malaysia Malaysia Flag
Maldives Maldives Flag
Mongolia Mongolia Flag
Myanmar Myanmar Flag
Nepal Nepal Flag
North Korea North Korea Flag
Oman Oman Flag
Pakistan Pakistan Flag
Palestine Palestine Flag
Philippines Philippines Flag
Qatar Qatar Flag
Russia Russia Flag
Saudi Arabia Saudi Arabia Flag
Singapore Singapore Flag
South Korea South Korea Flag
Sri Lanka Sri Lanka Flag
Syria Syria Flag
Taiwan Taiwan Flag
Tajikistan Tajikistan Flag
Thailand Thailand Flag
Timor-Leste Timor-Leste Flag
Turkey Turkey Flag
Turkmenistan Turkmenistan Flag
United Arab Emirates UAE Flag
Uzbekistan Uzbekistan Flag
Vietnam Vietnam Flag
Yemen Yemen Flag

Malaysia Time Zones

CET UTC+08:00
CEST UTC+08:00

Malaysia Codes

Internet TLD MY
Three-letter country code MYS
Three-digit country code 458
Calling code +60