flags of the world

United States of America Flag

Click United States of America Flag Image to Download

Flag of Gabon

Flag of United States of America

The flag of the United States of America comprises of thirteen equal flat stripes of red from top to bottom. These thirteen stripes in United States Flag are alternating with white and blue in a rectangle in the canton bearing fifty small five-pointed stars in white arranged in nine offset horizontal rows. These rows comprised of six stars (top and bottom) alternate with rows of five stars.

The 50 stars on the flag present the 50 states of the United States of America in the Flag of United States. The 13 bands characterize the thirteen British colonies that professed independence from the Kingdom of Great Britain, and developed the first states in the U.S.

History of United States of America Flag

On January 1, 1776, Washington well-ordered the Grand Union flag raised above his base at Prospect Hill. It had 13 alternative red and white bands and the British Union Jack in the top left corner (the canton). On June 14, 1777, to found an official flag for the new state, the Continental Congress passed the first Flag Act. After the first Flag Act, there have been numerous Acts on Flag passed and the flag observed various modifications accordingly.

United States of America Flag Design and Symbolic Meaning

Red stripes in the United States flag represent valor, courage and hardiness; whereas, white stripes depicts innocence and purity. Even the 13 stripes have meaning, the country honor the original English colonies whose men and women sacrificed much to gain the independence. Stars in the flag signify 50 states in the union of states. Lastly, the blue star field stands for justice and perseverance.

About United States of America

United States is situated in North American Continent. United States covers a vast swath of Hawaii extending the nation’s presence into the Pacific, North America with Alaska in the northwest, Canada border to the north and Mexico border to the south. The country has 327 million inhabitants and population density is 1,000 inhabitants per square mile.

The country has federal republic. The official language of United States is English and the currency is Dollar. United States comprises of two letters United States code i.e. US and its three letters United States code is USA and in digits it is 840. The calling code is +1 and the UTC i.e. standard time followed in United States is UTC -9 hours.

Being a federal republic, United States comprises of a total of 50 states.

United States of America Country Information

Country United States of America
Continent North America
Official Languages English
Capital Washington, D.C.
Currency United States dollar $ (USD)

Other North American Countries

Antigua and Barbuda Antigua and Barbuda Flag
American Samoa American Samoa Flag
Bahamas Bahamas Flag
Barbados Barbados Flag
Belize Belize Flag
Canada Canada Flag
Costa Rica Costa Rica Flag
Cuba Cuba Flag
Dominica Dominica Flag
Dominican Republic Dominican Republic Flag
El Salvador El Salvador Flag
Grenada Grenada Flag
Guatemala Guatemala Flag
Haiti Haiti Flag
Honduras Honduras Flag
Jamaica Jamaica Flag
Mexico Mexico Flag
Nicaragua Nicaragua Flag
Panama Panama Flag
Saint Kitts and Nevis Saint Kitts and Nevis Flag
Saint Lucia Saint Lucia Flag
Saint Vincent and the Grenadines Saint Vincent and the Grenadines Flag
Trinidad and Tobago Trinidad and Tobago Flag
United States of America USA Flag

United States of America Time Zones

CET UTC−04:00 to UTC−12:00, UTC+10:00, UTC+11:00
CEST UTC−04:00 to UTC−10:00

United States of America Codes

Internet TLD US
Three-letter country code USA
Three-digit country code 840
Calling code +1